Tuesday, June 21, 2016

June 21, 2016 (Bauer, Buccilli, Ferrarelli, Mennies, Ramirez, Fasano)

Hemingway's Poetry Series
June 21, 2016

Featured Readers
Click to Enlarge - Right-Click to Download
(And They're Still Smiling!)
Standing: Adriana Ramirez, Joseph Fasano, Jimmy Cvetic, Daniela Buccilli & Rina Ferrarelli
Seated: Rachel Mennies & Joan Bauer

Joan E. Bauer is the author of The Almost Sound of Drowning (Main Street Rag, 2008). Recent work has appeared in Calyx, Cider Press Review, Confrontation, The Paterson Literary Review, Pittsburgh Poetry Review, Uppagus, and US 1 Worksheets. In 2007, her poem, "Sleepers," won the Earle Birney Poetry Prize from Prism International. Joan worked for years as a teacher and counselor and now divides her time between Venice, CA, and Pittsburgh, PA where, along with Jimmy Cvetic, she co-hosts and curates the Hemingway Summer Poetry Series.

Joan E. Bauer - Click to Play (Right-Click to Download)

Daniela Buccilli’s poetry has appeared or is upcoming in Paterson Literary Review, Free State Review, Concho River Review, Uppagus, Italian Americana: Cultural and Historical Review, Rune, Voices from the Attic, Main Street Rag, and The Fourth River. She has studied with the Madwomen for nearly ten years. Her MFA is from University of Pittsburgh (2001). Her book-length manuscript Hippie Teachers was a semi-finalist for the 2015 Perugia Press Prize.

Rina Ferrarelli's The Bread We Ate, a collection of original poetry, was published in 2012 by Guernica. She has also published two other works of original poetry, Dreamsearch (malafemmina) and Home is Foreign Country (Eadmer), and two bilingual editions of translations, I Saw the Muses (Guernica), and Winter Fragments (Chelsea). She was awarded an NEA and the Italo Calvino Prize. Two of her poems, "The Young Immigrant Writes to a Friend Back Home" and "Mayflies" were Included in WRITTEN ON WATER, Writings about the Allegheny River (Mayapple Press, 2013).

Rachel Mennies is the author of The Glad Hand of God Points Backwards (2014), the winner of the Walt McDonald First-Book Prize in Poetry at Texas Tech University Press, and the chapbook No Silence in the Fields (2012) from Blue Hour Press. She teaches in the First-Year Writing Program at Carnegie Mellon, and has worked as the reviews editor at AGNI and as an instructor of creative writing and composition at Penn State.

Adriana E. Ramírez is a 2015 PEN/Fusion Award-winning nonfiction writer, storyteller, digital maker, and performance poet based in Pittsburgh. She teaches in the English Department at the University of Pittsburgh, co-runs the Steel City Poetry Slam, and co-founded Aster(ix) Journal. Her work has appeared in the Los Angeles Review of Books, Guernica, Convolution, HEArt, Apogee, and Nerve.com, as well as on hundreds of stages across the country. Ramirez is the author of two poetry chapbooks, The Swallows (Blue Sketch Press) and Trusting in Imaginary Spaces (Tired Hearts Press); she is also the nonfiction editor of DISMANTLE (Thread Makes Blanket Press).

Joseph Fasano is the author of three collections of poems, Vincent (Cider Press Review, 2015), Inheritance (Cider Press Review, 2014), and Fugue for Other Hands (Cider Press Review, 2013), winner of the Cider Press Review Book Award. His honors include two Pushcart Prize nominations, the RATTLE Poetry Prize, and a finalist nomination for the Missouri Review Jeffrey E. Smith Editors’ Prize. He teaches at Manhattanville College and in the graduate and undergraduate writing programs at Columbia University. He lives in New York.

Open Mic

Open Mic - Click to Play (Right-Click to Download)

Mac users who lack a 2-button mouse may press Control-Click on the appropriate links to enable downloads.

1 comment:

  1. Great to see all the poets photos and be able to hear them, too. Thanks for sharing.