Tuesday, July 19, 2011

July 19, 2011 (Waite, Beatty, Ochester)

Hemingway’s Summer Poetry Series
July 19, 2011

Stacey Waite is originally from New York and received an MFA in poetry in 2003. For several years, she has been teaching courses in Composition, Women's Studies, Literature and Creative Writing as a PHD candidate at the University of Pittsburgh.  After receiving her MFA, Stacey published two collections of poems:  Choke (winner of the 2004 Frank O'Hara Prize in Poetry) and Love Poem to Androgyny (winner of the 2006 Main Street Rag Competition).  Her poems have been published most recently in The Cream City Review, The Marlboro Review, Gulf Stream and Black Warrior Review.  A new collection of poems, The Lake has No Saint, was published by Tupelo Press in 2010.  Stacey has also been teaching for the Carlow University sponsored community, Madwomen in the Attic.  This September 2011, she will be teaching at the University of Nebraska, Lincoln.

Jan Beatty’s new book, Red Sugar, was published by the University of Pittsburgh Press in Spring, 2008. Other books include Boneshaker (2002, University of Pittsburgh Press) and Mad River, winner of the 1994 Agnes Lynch Starrett Prize. Ravenous, her limited edition chapbook, won the 1995 State Street Prize. Beatty’s poetry has appeared in Quarterly West, Gulf Coast, Indiana Review, and Court Green, and in anthologies published by Oxford University Press, University of Illinois Press, and University of Iowa Press. Awards include the $15,000 Creative Achievement Award in Literature from the Heinz Foundation, the Pablo Neruda Prize for Poetry, and two fellowships from the Pennsylvania Council on the Arts. For the past thirteen years, she has hosted and produced Prosody, a public radio show on NPR-affiliate WYEP-FM featuring the work of national writers. Beatty directs the creative writing program at Carlow University, where she runs the Madwomen in the Attic writing workshops and teaches in the MFA program. such as MARGIE: The American Journal of Poetry; AmeriQuests (Vanderbilt University); 580 Split (Mills College); and upstreet, among many others. 

Ed Ochester
Through his writing, editing and teaching, Ed Ochester has been a major influence on contemporary letters for more than three decades.  His most recent books are Unreconstructed: Poems Selected and New (Autumn House Press, July 2007), The Republic of Lies (chapbook, Adastra Press, June 2007), The Land of Cockaigne (Story Line Press, 2001), and American Poetry Now (University of Pittsburgh Press, March 2007), an anthology of contemporary American poetry.  He edits the Pitt Poetry Series and is general editor of the Drue Heinz Literature Prize for short fiction (both University of Pittsburgh Press). From 1978 to 1998, he was director of the writing program at the University of Pittsburgh, and was twice elected president of Associated Writing Programs.  He has won fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts and the Pennsylvania Council on the Arts, recently won the $15,000 "Artist of the Year" award of the Pittsburgh Cultural Trust, and in 2006 won AWP's George Garrett Award for service to literature. He co-edits the poetry magazine 5 AM and is a core faculty member of the Bennington College MFA program. 

Jimmy Cvetic reads Dog

Open Mic

No comments:

Post a Comment